Beth Covert Interview Feature

BethCovertLocal artist Beth Covert has painted an impressive career throughout her life that includes her own successful business that’s created memorable artworks in the community for more than twenty years now – The Covert Wilkins Studio.

Covert has been blessed with several opportunities and experiences throughout her life that helped her achieve a career in art. “I’m fortunate to have been born with a great deal of ability,” says Covert.  “I’ve received encouragement from several people in my life, especially in kindergarten when my teacher wrote “I expect Beth to go far in art” on my report card.”

Covert applied to the “Famous Artist School” at age 12 after seeing an advertisement in a magazine. “They called me and told me my work would have been accepted, but I was too young,” added Covert. “My next big step was being selected for a special summer art program in the fifth grade where we worked on my very first mural,” says Covert.

“When I was put in charge of the decorations for my high school homecoming, I painted my first “solo” mural,” says Covert.  After high school, Covert graduated from Tiffin Columbian, and then from Terra Community College with an associates degree in applied science in graphics.  Her family has always been very supportive throughout her art career. “My grandfather, Curtis Covert, was a hobby-painter,” says Covert.

“I always liked the smell of the linseed oil and turpentine in his room. Those smells mean the same to me as the smell of baking cookies mean to others.” Covert began working as a commercial artist at age 21, then quit her job at a printing company when she had her first child.

“After the baby was born, it didn’t take me long to grow restless in my work career,” adds Covert. Soon after, Covert started the Covert Wilkins Studio while she taught a silk screen printing class at Terra Community College.  “I began the studio because I wanted the flexibility that self employment would offer,” says Covert.

“In the studio’s initial years I contacted local decorators and paint stores for supplies then began by teaching courses in stenciling and lectured on the history of painted finishes,” says Covert. “I also started with basic faux finishes learned from books out of Europe because there was little available in the states. I experimented with these techniques on the walls of my own home.”

Faux finishes are personally customized art techniques that recreate the look and texture of various materials like wood and stone. Since the studio opened, Covert has grown in prominence as a local artist by producing creative artworks for events like the Parade of Homes and various individuals in the community.

“I schedule appointments at the convenience of the client,” adds Covert. Covert has also produced amazing murals at various community institutions including the Sylvania Library, Woodville Library, Fremont Library and Port Clinton Library.

“I think one of the most important reasons for my success has been my ability to read my clients and figure out what’s in their head when sometimes they don’t even know,” says Covert.  Positive word of mouth and personal recommendations helped the Covert Wilkins Studio grow. “Satisfied clients are the best marketing tool. It’s something that can’t be bought and is most valuable,” says Covert. 

For more information about the Covert Wilkins Studio, located on 3124 Hopewell in Toledo, Ohio, call 419-534-3124 or visit the Website at www.bethcovert.com, This Website features several testimonials, “before and after” pictures in the “What’s New” section, and an impressive portfolio of artworks in the realms of sports, architecture, nature, kids and various decors.

This entry was posted in Film Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

