Life is Strange: Episode 1 (Chrysalis)

The episodic mystery adventure Life is Strange (played on the PlayStation 4) begins with the first episode subtitled Chrysalis where Max, an 18-year-old photography student has the special ability to reverse time that have varied consequences in late 2013 in Oregon state.

Set in Arcadia Bay, Oregon, Maxine “Max” Caulfield, well voiced by Hannah Telle (Murdered: Soul Suspect), and Chloe Price, also well voiced by Ashly Burch (Borderlands 2), anchor emotional drama into the time bending mechanics all starting in October 2013 in this six section episode. This duo looks for a missing student named Rachel Amber amid mainly high school settings. The unpredictable story builds tension and drama amid the sarcastic quips as the supernatural element builds naturally throughout the story while players get insight through Max’s internal dialogue.


Developed by Dontnod Entertainment (Remember Me) and published by Square Enix, Life is Strange Episode 1 puts players in a third person perspective as Max who investigates the disappearance of a local girl. It’s a solid beginning to a planned five-episode set with a memorable visual style accented with a hand painted-like style in the visuals.

The game notes when actions will trigger special consequences for dramatic effect and so players can note this narrative highlight for the short-term and long-term gameplay. The design includes helpful signs and other environmental elements that players would notice if the game was a real world situation.

LifeIsStrangeSchoolLife is Strange Episode 1 sets up the next story episode well while casting doubts on several characters, which adds more challenge into the gameplay. Character actions involve simple controller button commands (in text) that are visually mapped into the game’s visuals. Another symbolic, but important visual cue is a butterfly placement near important actions that gives players important hints so they can keep progressing. Scanning environments for the commands and gaining intel from surrounding characters also help progression.

The impressive Unreal Engine 3 graphics engine amazes with great shadowing, design, and texture. As in most games, the cut scenes run a bit better than the normal gameplay. Unfortunately, the audio dialogue often does not match character mouth movement visuals, which hurts the emotional impact of the quality story.

The music sets the mood so well, especially the initial song in the opening credit sequence as Max walk through her school hallways. See the entire soundtrack list below (I noted my favorites with plus signs (+)):

  • “Santa Monica Dream” – Angus & Julie Stone
  • “Mt. Washington” – Local Natives +
  • “To All of You” – Syd Matters +
  • “Obstacles” – Syd Matters
  • “Something Good” – alt-J +
  • “Got Well Soon” – Breton +
  • “Lua” – Bright Eyes
  • “Piano Fire” – Sparklehorse
  • “The Sense of Me” – Mud Flow
  • “Mountains” – Message to Bears
  • “Crosses” – José Gonzalez
  • “In my Mind” – Amanda Palver & Brian Viglione +

Dontnod continues their streak of making successful action adventure games with strong stories and great female protagonists. Also available on PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and Windows PC. Developers offer a help line ( for players who might experience powerful emotions while playing this game. Look for the following episodes (releasing every six weeks) – Episode 2: Out Of TimeEpisode 3: Chaos TheoryEpisode 4: Dark Room, and Episode 5: Polarized.

A uniquely special gaming experience individually priced at $4.99, or get the season pass for a suggested retail price of $19.99.

Copyright © Michael Siebenaler

This entry was posted in Video Game Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life is Strange: Episode 1 (Chrysalis)

  1. Pingback: Life is Strange, Episode 2 | Tall Writer

  2. Pingback: Fall 2017 Video Game Guide | Tall Writer

  3. Pingback: 2017 Video Game Gift Guide | Tall Writer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s